• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Rautavaara's Cello Concerto World Premiere Towards the Horizon Launches Minnesota Orchestra Season

The latest work from Finland's senior composer, Einojuhani Rautavaara, will be heard first in the U.S. with the Minnesota Orchestra under the baton of Osmo Vänskä. The 20-minute concerto for cello and orchestra, Towards the Horizon (2008-09), is written in one continuous movement and will receive three performances at Orchestra Hall in Minneapolis to launch the Minnesota Orchestra season—September 30, October 1–2.

Polish-born cellist Arek Tesarczyk will be the soloist for the concerts; a member of the Minnesota Orchestra since 2004 and the former principal cellist of the Winnipeg Symphony. Truls Mørk, who was originally scheduled to perform the piece, is recovering from a health issue.

Rautavaara on Towards the Horizon: "This one movement concerto is written for the Minnesota Orchestra and its Music Director Osmo Vänskä, and is dedicated to Truls Mørk. It is my second concerto for cello and orchestra. ... Of my twelve concertos the first was for cello, and now again a cello concerto may end the series." MORE...

Looking ahead, Towards the Horizon will receive its European premiere with the Radio Filharmonisch Orkest led by John Storgårds at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, and its Finnish premiere with Truls Mørk joined by the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of Leif Segerstam.

In the U.S., Colin Currie will continue his tour of Rautavaara's percussion concerto, Incantations, with two performances by the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra led by Robert Spano on March 18 & 19, 2011. The piece received its 2009 world premiere in London and has since been performed in Rotterdam, Tampere (Finland), Baltimore, and Albany.

For a complete listing of performances of Rautavaara's music visit www.boosey.com/performances.

Photo Credit: Ondine Records

>  News Search

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications