• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

Steve Reich has won the prestigious BBVA Frontiers of Knowledge Award for his renewal of culture and fusing of diverse traditions.

Steve Reich is the winner of the 2013 BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award in the Contemporary Music category. The jury citation describes how the American composer (b.1936) has developed "a new concept of music, based on the use of realist elements from the realm of daily life and others drawn from the traditional music of Africa and Asia." Previous recipients of the award include Pierre Boulez, Salvatore Sciarrino, Helmut Lachenmann and Cristóbal Halffter.

The jury notes how "Steve Reich has carved out new paths, fostering a dialogue between popular and high culture and between western modernity and non-European traditions, and achieving a rich combination of complexity and transparency.” They also single out his ability to attract the widest, most varied audiences “by engaging frontally with world issues, from the Israeli-Palestine conflict to the 9/11 attacks, as well as contemporary problems like the relations between faith and science and technology.”

For the full press release visit
> www.boosey.com/downloads/BBVAawardPR.pdf

Steve Reich has just finished writing a quartet for two vibraphones and two pianos with first performances by the Colin Currie Group this autumn, and is working on a new piece for the Royal Ballet in London and the Signal Ensemble in Chicago for premiere in 2016.

For further information visit:
> www.boosey.com/reich
> www.stevereich.com

About the Award
The BBVA Foundation - based in Madrid - promotes, funds and disseminates world-class scientific research and artistic creation, in the conviction that science, culture and knowledge in its broadest sense hold the key to a better future for people. The Foundation designs and implements its programs in partnership with leading scientific and cultural organizations in Spain and abroad, seeking to identify and prioritize those projects with the power to move forward the frontiers of the known world.

The BBVA Foundation established its Frontiers of Knowledge Awards in 2008 to recognize the authors of outstanding contributions and radical advances in a broad range of scientific and technological areas congruent with the knowledge map of the late 20th and 21st centuries, and others that address central challenges, such as climate change and development cooperation, deserving of greater visibility and recognition. Their eight categories include classical areas like Basic Sciences (Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics) and Biomedicine, and other, more recent areas characteristic of our time, ranging from Information and Communication Technologies, Ecology and Conservation Biology, Climate Change and Economics, Finance and Management to Development Cooperation and the innovative realm of artistic creation that is Contemporary Music.

For further information visit:
> http://www.fbbva.es

Photo: Wonge Bergmann

>  News Search

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications