• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Boosey & Hawkes / Universal Edition

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the USA only.


Repertoire Note

At around ten minutes, Bartók’s Suite makes an excellent recital opener. Its energy grows inexorably towards the third movement, in fierce Arabic style, after which there is a lilting denouement. A further movement was withdrawn by Bartók before first performance, but was recently published under the title, “Andante”. It originally appeared as the second movement of the five movements, for those interested in restoring Bartók’s original plan.

Note by Malcolm Gillies


Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications