• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

classroom perc(2)-vln(I,II,III)-vlc(I,II,III)

Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.
World Premiere
Wigmore Hall, London
Pathways / Music Masters
Composer's Notes

Rout was composed in 2022, growing out of a composition workshop scenario which took place in Ashmole Primary School in London earlier that year. In this I explored some creative ideas with the young musicians, for example playing about with irregular time signatures and floating, ethereal chordal textures. I took some of these and used them in this new piece. There are three violin parts and three cello parts, all graded according to ability and experience. And percussion parts are added in too. The music begins with a lively, lopsided 7/8 time rhythm, transitions to a more settled middle section and then brings back the original idea at the end.

James MacMillan, 2022

Reproduction Rights
This programme note can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with a credit to the composer

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications