• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

glsp/gong/vib/xyl/conga dr/timbales/cowbells/cyms/susp.cym/tgl/

Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

Programme Note

Copland was drawn to the film, Something Wild, an unusual psychological drama about the feelings of a young girl learning to live with violence and with the moods of the city. The scenario required long stretches of uninterrupted music which Copland later shaped into a symphonic suite to satisfy a commission from the London Symphony Orchestra. The four movements are titled: Skyline, Night Thoughts, Subway Jam, and Toward the Bridge.

-Vivian Perlis, 1998

More on this Composer

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications