• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

3(II,III=picc).3(III=corA).1.Ebcl(=bcl).2bcl(=dbcl)3(II,III=dbn).ssax-4.4(II,IV=picctpt).4.2-perc(4):xyl/glsp/vib/marimba/cowbells/t.bells/mokubio/6wdbl/2tpl.bl/2 long.bamboo .guiros/3bongos/6tom-t/2BD/susp.cym/2tam-t/2gong/lion's roar-2harp-pft-strings(

Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere
Philharmonie, Berlin
Staatskapelle Berlin / Daniel Barenboim

Press Quotes

"Birtwistle was inspired to compose this magnificent avant-garde orchestral geology by the Scottish geologist James Hutton, by the idea that "we find no vestige of a beginning, no prospect of an end" in the rocks of this earth, only a state of constant alteration… Musical layers of rock grate against each other, interrupted by violent percussion outbursts and shrill wind sounds – magma and scree, hurled musically into the air…"
Der Tagesspiegel

"...an immensely powerful, sometimes breathtakingly beautiful work… Birtwistle may use an orchestra in which low-pitched instruments – tubas, bass and contrabass clarinets, contrabassoons – are emphasised, but the landscapes that the music traverses are wonderfully varied and coloured. There are pulsing Stravinskyan repetitions, cascades of chattering woodwind, Boulez-like toccatas of tuned percussion and long-limbed solos, led off of by soprano saxophone, which float over transparent webs of strings…one of Birtwistle’s finest orchestral achievements."
The Guardian

"The work was inspired by the vast slowness of geological time, and the way this slowness is occasionally riven by sudden catastrophes and slippages. The piece itself revealed a more human scale, with a melancholy cor anglais solo arousing memories of Birtwistle’s earlier processionals, and moments of pulsating energy in marimbas and plucked cellos. It was grandly impressive…"
Daily Telegraph

"Birtwistle’s fingerprints are all over this new work – the fascination with layers of time, the growling echoes of the distant past, the rhythmic tread of the passing years, each as distinctive as ever…"
Financial Times

More on this Composer

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications