• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

Repertoire Note

"Two Worms" and "The Duck and the Yak" are the two Gertrude Norman poems Fine chose for this 1955 sequel to his first set of Childhood Fables for Grownups (1954). Originally written for medium voice and piano, the songs of Set 2 were dedicated to Fine's composer friends Arthur Cohn and Alexei Haieff. Joel Spiegelman's 1977 orchestrations highlight the endearing humor of the first fable and the melodrama of the second.

Reproduction Rights
This programme note can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with a credit to Boosey & Hawkes/Jennifer DeLapp.

More on this Composer

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications