• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere

Purcell Room, London
Rolf Hind, piano /

Composer's Notes
  1. Adagio
    2. Grandioso ed affretando
    3. Adagio

    I wrote my Piano Sonata during a bitter Ayrshire winter and recall the barren trees and hard frozen ground of a landscape that was empty and silent but for the harsh, hollow cry from the rookeries. This is reflected in the Sonata’s tolling, mournful chords, with its bursts of violent, or delicate and icy, figuration. Throughout the three movements the music conveys a mood of elegy, of despair and desolation.

    James MacMillan

    Reproduction Rights
    This programme note can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with a credit to the composer
Press Quotes

"...intense lonely landscapes, wild gestures and beautifully-spaced harmonies."
Musical Times

More on this Composer

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications