• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

Programme Note

Copland's orchestrations of his two sets of American folk song arrangements were both premiered by William Warfield, who said, "If I had to make a choice, it would probably be toward the orchestra versions, especially for I Bought Me a Cat, where you have all these wonderful barnyard sounds in the orchestration." Copland took such pleasure in the popularity of the folksongs that he also approved various arrangements for chorus and orchestra.

-Vivian Perlis, 1998

More on this Composer

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications