• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes / Sikorski for the UK, British Commonwealth (excluding Canada), Republic of Ireland, Germany, Switzerland, Denmark, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Netherlands, Spain, Portugal, Greece, Turkey, Israel.

World Premiere
Moscow Conservatory Malyi Hall, Moscow
Dmitri Shostakovich & Lev Oborin, piano /

Repertoire Note

1.Prelude in F sharp minor  2.Fantastic Dance in A minor  3.Nocturne in D major  4.Finale in F sharp minor

Dedicated to the memory of the composer’s father, who had died suddenly in early 1922 when the composer was still only 16 years old, this suite shows the young composer for the first time trying to engage with a more serious tone of voice. Starting in 1925, Shostakovich himself took part in several performances of this piece and it was the student work by which he began to make an impression on his teachers and mentors in Leningrad and Moscow, and show himself as a talent to be reckoned with.

Note by Gerard McBurney

More on this Composer

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications