• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

clarinets 1 & 2 in B flat, clarinet 3 alto in E flat

Abbreviations (PDF)

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

Repertoire Note

Anticipating "the albatross of 'epic' poetry and symphonic sentiment that the event [would] surely give rise to and for a certain time excuse," Stravinsky obtained from Auden a "very quiet little lyric" with which to commemorate the assassination.

Reproduction Rights
This programme note can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with a credit to Boosey & Hawkes/Joseph Horowitz.

More on this Composer

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications