• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English Deutsch Español

Johannes Kalitzke is a much sought-after conductor, particularly of contemporary repertoire, thus conducting and composing become "mutually dependent", a process felt by the composer to be an "extremely constructive force" * Seeks to combine instruments and electronics and achieves a high level of amalgamation of real and electronic sounds * Approximates historical and contemporary worlds of sounds, as in Schuberts Traum (Schubert's Dream, 1999), where the personal level – a diary entry of Schubert which is quoted in the work – is confronted with a sociological issue – the role of the artist in his environment * Kalitzke's modern language of sound is intense and at the same time surprisingly accessible as the artist integrates lively experience into his music * An initial idea, ie from literature as in the Kafka Complex (1989–2006) unfold in a dense, highly expressive way

Works by Johannes Kalitzke include:
Story Teller (2015-16) for cello and orchestra
Pym (2014) Opera after EA Poe
Die Weber (2011) Music for the 1927 silent film
Six Covered Settings (1999/2000) for string quartet

Looking Ahead: works on a percussion concerto for œnm . œsterreichisches ensemble fuer neue musik (WP Nov 2023 in Salzburg)

"Kalitzke’s scores are transparent in sound, well-articulated, its instrumentation showing a sense of new colours. What at first sight looks rather sophisticated, turns out to be unusually concentrated and expressive with respect to the initial idea." – Hartmut Lück, Klassik heute

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications