• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English Deutsch

Osmo Tapio Räihälä opens up completely new sounds and listening experiences perceived as singular and extraordinary even in his Finnish homeland
• he studied musicology and composition at the universities of Turku and Helsinki and composition with Harri Vouri
• some of his works have a rhapsodic effect, unexpected for their flow replete with imaginative sound inventions that can also transcend the level of noise
• dramatic effects and sudden contrasts so compelling the listener’s attention is never lost
• virtuoso, highly challenging music
• Räihälä began as a rock musician, which can be clearly felt in the often gripping structure and, at times, frontal dynamics of his works
• Räihälä’s emphasis is on instrumental music - the composer himself experiences his music as extremely pictorial
• visual associations make themselves felt through stylistic changes, motivic contrasts and clearly contoured melodic sequences
• the composer also presents radio and television programmes in Finland

Works by Osmo Tapio Räihälä include:
Soliloque Suite (2013) for several solo-instruments
Swarm (2020) for string octet
Mural (2017) for ensemble
Concerto for horn and orchestra (2013)

Works by Osmo Tapio Räihälä are published by Boosey & Hawkes / Sikorski

Looking Ahead: world premiere of Claroscuro for bass clarinet, percussion and strings with soloist Volker Hemken and Jena Philharmonic (25 May)

“I can only say that in my music you can perceive a strong pulse, a lot of energy, whole-tone harmonies, fragmentary melodies, rich instrumental colours. And overall, there's a certain playfulness.” – Osmo Tapio Räihälä

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications