• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

2(II=picc)2.2.bcl(=cl.III).ssax(=tsax).asax.2.dbn(=bn.III)- Chinese tam-t/dr kit-cel(=keyboard glsp)-harp-strings(

Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World Premiere
David Geffen Hall, New York, NY
Emanuel Ax, piano / New York Philharmonic / Alan Gilbert
Press Quotes

“Yet this is an intricate and provocative score, a 24-minute single-movement concerto that unfolds with inexorable sweep and rhythmic persistence, even during some stream-of-consciousness stretches.” —New York Times

“Completed last year when the Viennese composer was 73 years young, it toys knowingly with jazz, swing, pop, serialism and even a touch of old-fashioned romanticism.” —Financial Times

“Instead, Gruber’s lively, attractive piece—an international co-commission by the Philharmonic and three other orchestras–spoke directly to the audience in accent jazzy one moment and Romantic the next.” —New York Classical Review

"According to HK Gruber, the classic ‘Brahmspianist’ is something that does not seem to particularly inspire him. Rather, it would be a barpianist from distant nightclubs vibrating with mesmerizing saxophones and strange rhythms. The concerto is charming and compassionate, relaxing to stillness then building again to a joyous and sparkling finale…" —Dagens Nyheter

"From the orchestra echoes of a jazz band are heard, dissolved in pointillist interjections… Gruber know how to entertain just the same as ever." —Der Tagesspiegel

News stories for this title:


Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications