• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda


Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


Composer's Notes

Ambient V has five movements of unequal length.

I. Inquiétude    Condition     (Anxiety)
II. Progression    Process I    (Progress)
III. Spleen    Condition II
IV. Décadence    Process II
V. Statisme    Condition III     (Stasis)

In Ambient V, I have tried to illustrate conditions and processes. Each condition consists of quite repetitive and static elements. Conditions lacking in any evolution are observed. However, the processes contain an evolutionary dynamic tending towards one objective : an “itinerary” from one point to another. The listener witnesses an unfolding of the process and its transformations.

Each movement in Ambient V is presented as a separate microcosm. However, from one movement to the next, we find similar material, sporadic recalls, fleeting allusions to the other movements which combine to give adhesion to entire work. There are references of a modal, rhythmic or intervallic nature.

This work is dedicated to Željko Avdalovic, my friend and colleague, who died accidentally at the beginning of his career.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications