• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

violin and piano

Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

Composer's Notes

Chant has three parts: slow-fast-slow. The inspiration comes from the Balkan folklore: one melody played by a Serbian gypsy scored by Bartók. We can hear the characteristic irregular rhythms and the sonorities of a violin playing in a highest position of a lowest string, evoking the special timber of a gypsy violin.


Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications