• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
Scoring - - perc(2).tmp - str

Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World Premiere
Salle Wilfrid Pelletier, Montréal
Orchestre symphonique de Montréal / Kent Nagano
Composer's Notes

For this concerto, which is in traditional 3-movement form (fast-slow-fast), I drew my inspiration from two composers performed on the world premiere program: Beethoven and Rossini. The former offers music coming from a place of deep reflection, and the latter offers a lighter and more immediately accessible music.

These two composers stirred in me the desire to create a piece full of duality, particularly the duality found in harmonic and melodic components, in different behaviours of instrumental groups, in the material itself and how it is treated, and finally, duality found in the conception of a discourse which alternates between action and introspection.

In writing this piece, I asked myself a number of questions concerning our perception of music of the past and its impact on our everyday life: what is music that entertains today? The waltz? Folk music? Rap? Techno Rave? Can we still propose a music that is charged with emotion without stooping to cheap pathos?

This musical reflection probably does more to raise questions than to provide answers. However, one thing is sure: I have tried to find a middle ground and to unite these two opposing universes in a music that is simply human and that endeavours above all to communicate the pleasure that music brings to me.



Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications