• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

strings ( and piano

Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


Composer's Notes

All of the village is gathered around a fire on the plains near a mountain. It’s the end of the summer and we feel the first signs of a chill in the air. The babies are wrapped up in the scarves of their mothers and the older children play around the fire. A little later on, they will rejoin their parents to snuggle with them. The adults tell stories, dance and sing: stories lived and stories dreamed.

The first is a hunting story with hunters who are charmed by a beautiful deer. They manage to tame it and bring it back to the village as they sing and dance.

The second story is a song of women who call out to the Sun, to the Earth and to the gods.

The third story is that of a mill and its many adventures with some temperamental water.

The fourth story is a love dance: during a party, possibly a wedding party, the women respond favourably to the men’s invitations, and the couples dance together until the first light of the morning. Pushed by a wind of happiness, they get lost far off in the fields…

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications