• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

violin, harpsichord, and string ensemble

Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


Composer's Notes

For each of the three movements of this piece, I was inspired by a different category of baroque music: concert music, religious music and theatre music. In the first movement, the soloists (violin and harpsichord) blend in with the orchestra. The contemplative second movement opens with a dialogue between the soloists that is supported by the strings. In the third movement, the soloists have a virtuosic duel, a sort of argument. The strings try to intervene, just like we could imagine performers intervene on the stage of a theatre.



Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications