• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


Composer's Notes

Nine Proverbs was inspired by the painting of the same name by Pieter Brueghel the Younger (1564-1647) which I saw in 1998 at the Art Gallery of Ontario. I was at once seduced by the satire and the anecdotal aspects of this picturesque work, as well as by the literal presentation of the actual meaning of the proverbs.

Nine Proverbs has nine attacca movements each with a contrasting atmospheres. We can, however, recognize several unifying elements in the modes, chords, rhythmical structures and colours.

Nine Proverbs was composed in 2000 for the Esprit Orchestra, with the support of the Canada Council for the Arts.

The nine movements are :

  1. Falling between two stools into ashes (Making up to your mind after others have decided)

  2. Drinking to excess constantly causing poverty, ruin and dishonor

  3. Hanging a blue cloak on a husband (Cheating on a husband)

  4. Not bearing the sun to shine on water (Being envious)

  5. Fishing behind the net (Missing an opportunity)

  6. Pissing on the moon (Attempting the impossible)

  7. Filling the well after the calf has drowned (Locking the stable door after the horse has bolted)

  8. Throwing roses before pigs (Casting pearls before swine)

  9. Hanging your coat in the direction of the wind (Making up your mind after others have decided)

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications