• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

mezzo-soprano, fl.2cl - pft - vln.vla.vlc

Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


Composer's Notes

The first five movements were written as an independent piece in 1996 for the ECM, and based on a Serbian text that I wrote. They were sung by Odette Beaupré and directed by Véronique Lacroix. Now ten years later, there are four more movements, all based on the same text and translated into four languages: Arabic, French, Kifuliiru and Indonesian.

In the first movement, both the vocal part and the general atmosphere of the piece are directly inspired by the text. The other movements evoke more of the sonority and musicality that I found in the different languages.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications