• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda


Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere
Purcell Room, London
Park Lane String Sextet
Composer's Notes

My String Sextet might have the subtitle Train of Thoughts, since it was drawn from the sensations I have always experienced when travelling by train, when the hypnotic continuity of the rhythm of the wheels has induced in me a succession of thoughts.

Therefore this work contains an onomatopoeic element in the rhythmical pattern which is built around a 3-note cell (F-B-E), constantly rotated and frequently transposed and reflected.

Andrzej Panufnik

Reproduction Rights
This programme note can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with a credit to the composer


Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications