• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda


Abbreviations (PDF)


Boosey & Hawkes

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.


World Premiere
Live Stream - OSLmusic.org, New York, NY
Orchestra of St. Luke's
Composer's Notes

I Am a Strange Loop is a book by Douglas Hofstadter, examining in depth the concept of a strange loop to explain the sense of "I". The concept of a strange loop was originally developed in his book Gödel, Escher, Bach. He writes:

In the end, we are self-perceiving, self-inventing, locked-in mirages that are little miracles of self-reference.

In Strange Loops I explore musical loops - motifs and gestures that repeat, morph, modulate and recapitulate in various guises. At the heart of this piece is a sense of playfulness and yearning - inspired by the creative process in isolation.

Thank you to Jon Manasse and musicians of the Orchestra of St Luke’s for bringing this piece to life.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications