• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Boosey & Hawkes / Bote & Bock

This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere
Hoxton Hall, London
Matthew Barley, cello /
Programme Note

In these five short pieces, each one blending into the next, the sound material of the cello is joined by that of two others: the cellist’s voice and a sizzle cymbal.

The tonal range of the cello, however, is strictly limited to a few chords, series and ‘patterns’, all of which are played con sordino.

The general mood of the piece is that of contemplation, like a conversation with oneself. Loops, circles and standstills extend the otherwise linear development of the music, while individual parts break away and begin to take their own path; fullness and emptiness alternate rapidly.
Thomas Tangler

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications