• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
Music Text

Erica Fryberg & Elena Kats-Chernin (E)


child solo(treble); M(from choir); mixed chorus; 2.2picc.2.corA.2.bcl.2.dbn-4.3.2.btrbn.1-timp.perc(3)-harp-pft-org-strings

Abbreviations (PDF)



This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere
Queensland Performing Arts Centre, Concert Hall, Brisbane
Queensland Symphony Orchestra / The Brisbane Chorale / Canticum Chamber Choir / Asher Fisch
Composer's Notes

I had begun composing a symphony about Brisbane, commissioned by the Brisbane Festival, when in January 2011 the tragedy of the Queensland floods struck. I decided to completely rethink the concept and start from scratch. The symphony became my response to the enormously devastating event that cost lives and destroyed so much, but also united people in so many ways. The symphony's four movements were inspired by: 1) the emotional turbulence and noise of the floods, 2) the aftermath, the stories of the survivors 3) the incredible efforts from people around the country, including the Mud Army, coming to help and clean up 4) remembering the dead, reflecting on what had happened, and the powerful optimism that soon emerged to rebuild and move on.


Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications