• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda


This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes / Sikorski for the world.


Composer's Notes

Lera Auerbach: 24 Preludes for Piano Op. 46

“The Twenty-four preludes for piano represent one of several cycles of 24 preludes I have written over the years. Re-establishing the value and expressive possibilities of all major and minor tonalities is as valid at the beginning of the twenty-first century as it was during Bach’s time, especially if we consider the aesthetics of Western music and its travels in regard – or disregard – to tonality during the last century. The 24 Preludes follow the circle of fifths thus covering the entire tonal spectrum. In writing this work I wished to create a continuum that would allow these short pieces to be united as one single composition. The challenge was not only to write a meaningful and complete prelude that may be only a minute long, but also for this short piece to be an organic part of a larger composition with its own form. Looking at something familiar yet from an unexpected perspective is one of the peculiar characteristics of these pieces – they are often not what they appear to be at first glance. The context and order of preludes is important for their understanding. (Lera Auerbach)

‘What we forget first of all are the small things, the details of everyday life behind which memories are concealed. It’s a special type of vision ‘from within’ that sees an object not only for what it is, but also with the secret vision of memory that allows one to see it as you glimpsed and perceived it in childhood.’”
(from Lera Auerbach’s novel “The Mirror”)

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications