• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English Deutsch

• Rodion Shchedrin is a full-blooded musician, composer and a highly gifted pianist
• sweetly beautiful, almost cinematographically illustrative music is juxtaposed with polyphonic and complexly constructed compositions
• multifaceted stylistics and virtuosic orchestral treatment
• extended colourful tonal language that is immediately captivating
• tendency towards experimentation as well as attachment to folklore, but also to archaic early forms of music, which he occasionally combines with avant-garde means including serial and aleatoric techniques
• Shchedrin achieved world fame through his brilliant adaptation of motifs from Georges Bizet's opera 'Carmen' entitled 'Carmen Suite' for string orchestra and percussion

Works by Rodion Shchedrin include:
24 Preludes and Fugues for Piano (1964-70)
Carmen Suite for string orchestra and percussion (1967)
Concerto for Orchestra No.1 'Naughty Limericks' for orchestra (1963)
Anna Karenina Ballet in 3 acts (1972)

Works by Rodion Shchedrin are published by Boosey & Hawkes / Sikorski

"The artful sophistication of his tonal language leads us into the depths of a sparkling music, filled with perspicacity, irony, humour, joie de vivre and genuine comedy". — Lorin Maazel

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications