• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English Deutsch Français

Olga Neuwirth (b. 1968) gained international recognition at the age of 22 for two mini-operas based on works of Nobel Prize winner Elfriede Jelinek. Since then, she’s written several music theatre pieces including her first [full-length?] dramatic work, Bählamms Fest (also based on one of Jelinek’s works), The Outcast, American Lulu, and Hommage á Klaus Nomi. In 2015, Vienna Philharmonic premiered her orchestral work Masaot / Clocks without Hands, which then went on to be performed at Carnegie Hall in 2016 under the baton of Valerij Gergiev. Also in 2016, she was composer-in-residence at the Lucerne Festival. She is currently working on a new opera for the Vienna Staatsoper which will be premiered in 2019.

Compositions before 2000 and after 2009 are published with Ricordi.

For more information from Ricordi, please contact:

G. Ricordi & Co. Bühnen- und Musikverlag GmbH
part of Universal Music Publishing Classical
Stralauer Allee 1
D-10245 Berlin
Tel. +49 (0) 30 52007-1323
[email protected]

This biography can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with the following credit: Reprinted by kind permission of Boosey & Hawkes

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications