• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

1(=picc).1.corA.2(II=bcl).1(=dbn)- (C)/BD/SD/glsp/sizzle cymbal/wdbl-cel-strings(min.

Abbreviations (PDF)



This work is available from Boosey & Hawkes for the world.

World Premiere
Cultural Centre, Hong Kong
Florence Sitruk, harp / City Chamber Orchestra of Hong Kong / Yang Jiao
Programme Note

As one of the world's oldest instruments, the harp carries with it a mythological and ancient past that is particularly associated with the Mediterranean regions of Europe.
This concerto in three seamlessly connected movements draws on these origins.
The first movement, "Aulos" (an ancient double-reed instrument), introduces a principal motive in two voices that runs through the entire concerto; a contrasting theme leads to an animated development section that in its turn produces a third, lyrical theme.
In the second movement, "Epiphanie" ("Epiphany"), this cantabile theme is subjected to eleven variations.
The third movement, "Komos" (a bacchanalian celebration), brings together all the motives and themes in the form of a dance, culminating in a peaceful coda structured as a long crescendo.
The work was commissioned by the harpist Florence Sitruk.
Thomas Tangler (translation: Timothy Jones)

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications