• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English Deutsch

Alan Curtis (1934—2015) has been a pioneer in the return to original instruments and Baroque performance practices, especially in the field of early opera. In over 35 years of performing concerts and recordings together, he and his group of singers and instrumentalists, Il Complesso Barocco, have not only brought to light many important works that had been forgotten or undervalued, but have also revealed new aspects of even the best-known masterpieces of the era from Monteverdi to Mozart.

The Complesso Barocco Edition is a selection of the most important of these works, with a particular focus on operas and dramatic oratorios. Many of the works in this series will be published not only in full score, but also in a set-out piano-vocal score as a study help for singers and stage directors.

First editions within this series:
'Drama Queens' – 13 Selected Arias from Early Baroque to Classic
Vivaldi: Catone in Utica (1737) opera
Gluck: Demofoonte (1743) opera
Cesti: Le nozze in sogno (1665) Comic opera
Monteverdi: L'incoronazione di Poppea (1643) dramma per musica

Please visit our special homepage on this series at www.boosey.com/complessobarocco

During the more than fifteen years I worked with Alan Curtis and Il Complesso Barocco, the orchestra presented numerous baroque and classical masterpieces. A great number of editions have been prepared for concerts and CD recordings of Il Complesso Barocco by Alan Curtis, who is not only an accomplished musician but also a musicologist of great renown and one of the world’s leading experts on the music of the baroque and classic periods. I am delighted that now, with the help and expertise of Boosey & Hawkes, his editions will be made available to performers and music lovers worldwide. — Donna Leon

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications