• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English Deutsch

Ferran Cruixent is one of the best-known Catalan composers on an international level. He studied piano, violin, singing and music theory at the Conservatori Superior de Música de Barcelona, where he received his artistic diploma in piano and music theory in 1999. He then studied "Composition" (with Prof. Dr hc Dieter Acker) and "Composition for Film and Television" (with Prof. Dr Enjott Schneider) at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Munich, where he completed his Master's degree in composition in 2006 with the support of a "La Caixa-DAAD" scholarship.
In the 2022-23 season, he was composer in residence at the Palau de la Música Catalana in Barcelona.

Ferran Cruixent writes unusually imaginative music, clearly structured, moving and densely constructed, aiming to touch the soul and the deepest emotions.
His repertoire includes commissioned works for orchestra, chamber music, ballet, opera and visual arts, and his symphonic works have been performed internationally by over 50 different orchestras (Gewandhausorchester, Detroit Symphony Orchestra, Bayerisches Staatsorchester, BR-Orchester, DRP Saarbrücken-Kaiserslautern, Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz, Orquestra OBC, Beijing Symphony Orchestra, etc.) under the baton of conductors from all over the world. ) under the direction of conductors such as Leonard Slatkin, Kazushi Ono, Christoph Poppen, Hannu Lintu and Karl-Heinz Steffens.

His works have been published by Boosey & Hawkes - Sikorski Berlin since 2008.

This biography can be reproduced free of charge in concert programmes with the following credit: Reprinted by kind permission of Boosey & Hawkes / Sikorski.)

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications