• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda
English Deutsch Español

• Known for his musical hybridity, combining traditions of classical chamber, Jewish liturgical, and klezmer music with hints of the tango of Astor Piazzolla
• Recipient of the MacArthur "Genius Grant" Fellowship and the Vilcek Prize, as well as two GRAMMY Awards in 2006: Best Opera Recording and Best Contemporary Composition for Ainadamar, released on Deutsche Grammophon
• Has composed several compositions for soprano Dawn Upshaw over the past decade including the Three Songs for Soprano and Orchestra, the opera Ainadamar, and the cycle Ayre.
• In 2006, Lincoln Center presented a sold-out festival called "The Passion of Osvaldo Golijov" featuring multiple performances of his works over the course of two months
• Composed the soundtrack for Francis Ford Coppola's Youth Without Youth and the recently released Tetro
• Carnegie Hall Debs Composer Chair, 2012–13 season

Works by Osvaldo Golijov include:
La Pasión según San Marcos (2000) for soloists, chorus, and orchestra
Ainadamar (2003) opera
Ayre (2004) for soprano and ensemble
Azul (2006) for cello, obbligato group and orchestra

Visit Osvaldo Golijov's website at www.osvaldogolijov.com.

Looking Ahead: The new production of Golijov’s Ainadamar, directed by Olivier Award-winning choreographer and director Deborah Colker, travels to the Welsh National Opera (Sep 9-Nov 22), following its acclaimed debut with the Scottish Opera and Detroit Opera in the 22-23 season.

"The music is full of passion, humor, tragedy and all the complexity of life." —Richard Dyer, Boston Globe

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications