• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

Steven Mackey's It Is Time Receives World Premiere with So Percussion

Steven Mackey's It Is Time, written for So Percussion (Eric Beach, Josh Quillen, Adam Sliwinski and, Jason Treuting), receives its world premiere at Carnegie's Zankel Hall on Thursday, March 25 at 9:30 p.m.

Co-commissioned by So Percussion and Carnegie Hall, the 40-minute piece was first workshopped in 2009 at So Percussion's first annual Summer Institute on the Princeton campus, where Mackey is professor of composition. Staging elements and video have since been added by Mark DeChiazza.

Says Mackey: "It Is Time marshals the virtuosity of the individual members of So to speed, slow, warp, celebrate and mourn our perceptions of time. Each of the four sections of the piece is a mini concerto for one of the players. First Eric Beach leads the music in a multi percussion set up composed of metronome with delay, pump organ, bells, china cymbal on hi-hat stand and a few other assorted toys. Josh Quillen follows on Steel Drums, Adam Sliwinski on Marimba, and Jason Treuting on Drum Set." MORE...

View a score sample.

Also on the Carnegie program is Steve Reich's seminal Drumming Part 1, now standard repertoire for percussion ensembles worldwide.

Mackey's violin concerto Beautiful Passing (2008) continues its international tour with Leila Josefowicz, stopping next in Salt Lake City with the Utah Symphony April 16 and 17. Shortly thereafter Colin Currie joins the Utah Symphony for two performances of Mackey's percussion concerto, Time Release (2005). Mackey will be present for performances in his role as visiting composer.

For scores, recordings, or other materials please contact jessica.schmitz@boosey.com / 212 358 5377.

Photo Credit: Jane Richey

>  News Search

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications