• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

Kim Criswell (soprano)
William Dazeley (baritone)
BBC Concert Orchestra, Leonard Slatkin

Praised by composer John Williams as ‘one of the great American masters of light orchestral music’, Leroy Anderson was a meticulous craftsman, a composer and arranger of many popular tunes that, once heard, are never forgotten.

Volume 5 in Naxos’s complete edition of his orchestral works presents highlights from his charming 1958 musical Goldilocks, which ran for 161 performances on Broadway and won two Tony awards. His Suite of Carols for Woodwind Ensemble, written three years earlier, includes both well known and less familiar Christmas tunes, each given the magical Anderson touch.

This is the final volume in the Anderson orchestral music series and includes some world premiere recordings.

“This series would be welcome for the fascination of its contents alone, even if it were not also so impeccably produced. Performances are technically and interpretatively outstanding, with utmost fidelity to the style and tempi of Anderson's own recordings. Richard S Ginell’s notes again add to our appreciation of a composer too readily taken for granted.”

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications