• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

'Partita'' for violin and piano, composed in 1955, is a version of a work which also exists in orchestral form. New timbral concepts appear in the work, although its formal structure remains indebted to tradition. Its four successive, contrasting parts (Prelude, Toccata, Intarmezzo and Rondo) are each characterised by a completely different musical language. ''Toccata'' and ''Rondo'', marked by reminiscences of folk music, humoristic colouring and liveliness, are representative of the composer's typical style. The remaining parts - ''Prelude'' and ''Intermezzo'' - are reflective in mood, resulting from, among others means, an appropriate melodic construction and the dissonant intervals of the regular (ostinato) accompaniment. The impresionistic-lyrical idiom, which ran throughout the composer's preceding works, is here cleary evident. The melancholic subject of the ''Intermezzo'' is almost aleitmotif, which can be heard in both earlier and subsequent compositions by Grazyna Bacewicz.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications