• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Grazyna Bacewicz completed Trio for oboe, violin and cello, begun during a stay in Paris, in November 1935 in Warsaw. The following year the work received a second prize (the first was not awarded), provided by Polish Radio, at a composition competition organised by the Polish Music Publishing Society in Warsaw. The Trio was first performed by Seweryn Snieckowski (oboe), Lidia Kmitowa (violin) and R. Halber (cello) during a promotional concert of contemporary chamber music organised by the Polish Music Publishing Society at the Warsaw Conservatory early in March 1936. The composition was accepted favourably both by the audience and reviewers (Michal Kondracki and Constantin Regamey). The work consists of three movements: Molto allegro, preceded by an introductory Adagio, Andante and Vivo. The Trio, stylistically uniform, is an example of the composer's neoclassicism and constitutes an important stage in the evolution and perfection of her compositional skills as well as the formation of her individual style.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications