• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

With his cantata “Meine Seel erhebt den Herren” which Bach composed for the Visitation of Mary (2 July), he created a Magnificat setting of a different kind: The German text source is a combination of biblical text and a free interpretation, the basis being the Marian hymn of praise from the Gospel according to Luke. The 9th psalm tone acts as the chorale melody and becomes a recurring musical theme.
With a small scoring of one trumpet (which if need be can be omitted), two oboes, strings and basso continuo along with four soloists and choir, Bach succeeds in writing a festive music of 20-25 minutes.
This performing edition is based on the Urtext of the “New Bach Edition”.

- Festive cantata based on the Urtext of the “New Bach Edition”
- With a duration of 20-25 minutes

Parts available: Violin I | Violin II | Viola | Cello/Basses | Organ | Wind Set

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications