• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Jeno Jandó. Piano
Tamara Takács, mezzo-soprano
Balázs Szokolay, piano

The 153 piano pieces of Béla Bartók's Mikrokosmos are a milestone in piano literature. Drawing on a wide range of sources, from musical terms and technical procedures to indications of regional provenance and folk derivation, they are arranged in order of increasing technical and musical difficulty, while encapsulating Bartók's maturing soundworld during the period 1926-1939.

When asked, near the end of his life, about the meaning of his chosen title, Bartók explained that "Mikrokosmos may be interpreted as a series of pieces in many different styles, representing a small world. Or it may be interpreted as 'world of the little ones, the children'".

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications