• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Boris Berman, renowned concert pianist and teacher, is one of the worlds foremost authorities on Sergei Prokofiev. In this book, he draws on his intimate knowledge of Prokofievs work to guide music lovers and pianists through the composers nine piano sonatas.

These cherished works, composed between 1910 and 1951, are today considered an indispensable part of the repertoire of every serious concert pianist. The book, written with a deep appreciation of Prokofievs style and creativity, looks at the sonatas within the context of Prokofievs complete oeuvre.

For each sonata, Berman provides general information about the work and a discussion of the compositions details and features, and in a section entitled 'Master Class' he offers suggestions for interpretation and specific advice for performing.

Berman also corrects for the first time various misprints in published scores and includes a helpful glossary of musical terms.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications