• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

This virtuosic sonata, first published in 1934, exploits the viola's technical capabilities to create an expressive and dramatic work in the late Romantic/early twentieth-century idiom. The sonata comprises four movements: the first is flowing yet intense, the second dark and mournful, the third alternates between lively tunes and passages of dazzling virtuosity, and the final movement is measured and contemplative.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications