• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Dense movement structures dialogizing in pairs and a darkened overall sound are what Mozart, Schubert and Brahms already thought to be fascinating in the genre of string quartet. Following this tradition, the composer and violist Brett Dean created ‘Epitaphs’, an homage to five recently departed colleagues and friends to each of whom is dedicated one movement of the 20-minute work. Premiered at the Cheltenham Festival 2010 by Dean and the Australian String Quartet, ‘Epitaphs’ was acclaimed by the press as ‘a superb and welcome modern addition to the string quintet repertoire’ (The Classical Review).

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications