• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Sample Pagesfor upper voices (SSA div) a cappella
Text: English (Matthew 6:33–4)
Duration: c2'30"
Difficulty: 3/5

Seek ye first the kingdom of God was composed for the combined girls choirs of Godolphin & Latymer School whilst Kerensa Briggs was Composer in Residence there in 2019.

Seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.
Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself.

Matthew 6:33–4

Kerensa Briggs
Kerensa Briggs is an award-winning composer specialising in choral music. Described as “poignant, ambivalent, quietly devastating music” in the New York Times, her works have been performed internationally at venues including St Paul’s Cathedral, London and the Sistine Chapel, Vatican City and are regularly broadcast on BBC Radio 3, Classic FM and BBC Radio Scotland. Her portrait disc Requiem (2023) on Delphian Records placed in the top 30 classical charts and was described as “alluring and heartfelt music” by BBC music magazine. Kerensa was winner of the National Centre for Early Music Young Composers Award 2014 and is a member of the TheoArtistry Composers scheme at St Andrews’ Institute for Theology and the Arts, as well as the Illuminate Women’s Music project. She is currently Composer in Residence for St Louis Chamber Chorus. Her love of choral music emanates from her background, singing in choirs including Gloucester Cathedral Youth and the choir of King’s College London, where she held a Choral Scholarship and undertook an MMus in Composition.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications