• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Full Score of John Cage: Dance Music for Elfrid Ide (1940), for 2-6 Percussionists and Piano, edited by Don Guillespe.

This work was written by Cage while serving on the faculty of the Dance Department at Mills College, for the graduation thesis of graduate student Elfrid Ide (daughter of composer Chester Ide). Working with amateur percussionists, one set of the existing materials--in Cage's own hand--shows extensive cuts and simplifications. This edition restores all excised passages completely, but the alterations (which are equally valid for performance) are detailed in the appendix.

I: 6 percussionists: handclaps, claves, rattle, whisk, cowbells, slitblock. II: 4 percussionists: slide whistle, cymbal, toy piano, ratchet, squawker, bass drum, low tom tom, 3 muted gongs. III: pianist and 2 percussionists: claves, slapstick, rattle.

Duration: 15 minutes.
Published by Edition Peters.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications