• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

In 1966, Copland transcribed selections from his 1948 orchestral Red Pony Suite for band. The first two movements -- "Dream March" and "Circus Music" -- depict the boy imagining his pony leading knights into battle, and then performing under the bigtop.

"Walk to the Bunkhouse" portrays the cowhand the boy idolized, while "Grandfather's Story" accompanies the old man's tales of his days as a pioneer. The band suite closes with the movie's opening music, originally titled "Morning on the Ranch," reworked into "Happy Ending."

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications