• Find us on Facebook
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • View our scores on nkoda

The flautist, bassoonist, composer and teacher François Devienne became known as the 'French Mozart' because of the stylistic grace, formal balance and brilliance of his music. His sonatas for solo instrument and bass date from between 1788 and 1803 (the year of his death) and would have contributed to the didactic material used at the new Paris Conservatoire, established in 1795. Several of these works were so popular during the composer's lifetime that they were arranged for other instruments and published all over Europe. The present work, which has been realized and edited by the well-known British clarinettist Nicholas Cox, will be particularly suitable for reasonably advanced students of both modern and classical clarinets.

You may be interested in

Also By This Composer

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications