• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Shostakovich's last work, the Sonata For Viola And Piano Op.147, is a superbly crafted Sonata in three movements with, unusually, a slow Adagio movement for the third. It was dedicated to the violist FyodorDruzhinin, a professor of the Moscow Tchaikovsky Conservatory and a member of the Beethoven String Quartet, a renowned Moscow ensemble that played at the premieres of most of Shostakovich’s string quartets. Fyodor Druzhinin andMikhail Muntyan premiered the Viola Sonata in Leningrad on October 1, 1975.

The solo Viola part is also included on a separate insert.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications