• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

The Czech composer František Xaver Dušek (1731–1799) was one of the leading figures in the musical life of late 18th-century Prague. He was an outstanding pianist, composer and teacher whose pupils included Leopold Koželuch.

This edition in two volumes (Volume 1: BA 11513)) contains all 23 of his surviving piano sonatas, many of which were previously accessible only in old prints or manuscripts. They are presented in chronological order by publication date and are all of easy technical difficulty. A Commentary by the editor offers useful tips on performance practice.

Volume II contains sonatas left unpublished in Dušek’s lifetime and preserved in manuscript form. Three of them appear here for the first time.

• First complete scholarly-critical edition
• Three previously unpublished sonatas
• Foreword (Cz/Eng/Ger) and Critical Commentary (Eng)
• Easy to play and suitable for teaching purposes

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications