• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Adrian Partington Singers
BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Richard Hickox, conductor

"This disc not only completes Richard Hickox’s Elgar cycle but also provides a fourth recording of the Third Symphony in Anthony Payne’s ‘elaboration’. Indeed, it collates all three of Payne’s Elgar realisations – including recorded debuts of the 1932 memorial ode for Queen Alexandria and the Pomp and Circumstance March No. 6…in terms of recording, then new disc (with a succinct and informative note by Anthony Burton) is a clear winner, the SACD sound having a depth and spaciousness that does justice to Payne’s Elgarian sound-world."
International Record Review

"In many ways Richard Hickox provides the best of all worlds, ensuring that Elgar’s climaxes emerge with thrilling power while the more withdrawn passages possess an almost Barbirolli-like rapture. Fascinating bonuses too, with Payne’s realization of a sixth pomp and Circumstance March and his orchestration of ‘So many true princesses…’"
Classic FM

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications