• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

Alexander Glasunov's famous Saxophone Quartet Op. 109 (1932) is one of his last works and, at the same time, one of the earliest quartets for this instrumentation at all. The work is virtually a little history of music – 'delivered subsequently' for this younger instrument group: The first movement is characterized by wide melodic arcs reminiscent of Dvorák, Wagner and Brahms; the second movement, a canzona variée, refers expressly to Schumann and Chopin, while the dynamic and fresh rondo finale with its lyric middle section refers to forms of Bach.

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications