• Find us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
  • Follow us on Instagram
  • View Our YouTube Channel
  • Listen on Spotify
  • View our scores on nkoda

"Handel composed his only oratorio in German between 1716 and 1717 basing it on the then popular Passion text by Barthold Heinrich Brockes entitled “Der für die Sünde der Welt gemarterte un d sterbende Jesus” (“The Story of Jesus, Suffering and Dying for the Sins of the World”). Handel’s affinity to opera is evident in the musical realisation of the emphatic text as he creates a synthesis between traditional Protestant church music and the depiction of human passion in the manner of opera seria.

This edition is based on the corresponding volume of the “Halle Handel Edition” (BA 4021). full score, parts and vocal score have been newly engraved. The piano reduction has been simplified and brought up to today’s standards, thus making it much more manageable to play.

- Based on the “Halle Handel Edition”

- Newly-engraved conducting score, vocal score and orchestral parts"

Stay updated on the latest composer news and publications